Honorary Board

The Honorary Board is made up of distinguished scientists, engineers, entrepreneurs and innovators who are recognized leaders in their field. The Honorary Board provides Society for Science & the Public with strategic guidance and input on scientific issues of importance to the Society.

Honorary Board members are elected by the Society’s Board of Trustees to serve three-year terms.

“I am honored to have this incredible group of scientists, engineers, entrepreneurs and innovators helping to guide the Society for Science & the Public as we move forward into our second century,” said Maya Ajmera, President and CEO of Society for Science & the Public and Publisher of Science News.

“As the Society continues to grow, we look forward to receiving guidance from the top scientific minds of our time.  The Honorary Board is comprised of dedicated leaders who have given their support and commitment to the Society and our mission to inform, educate and inspire,” said H. Robert Horvitz, former Chairman of the Society’s Board of Trustees.

The 22-member inaugural Honorary Board was announced on July 18, 2019, with a majority of members being alumni of the Society’s science competitions.

The inaugural Honorary Board:

Angelika Amon, Ph.D.
Kathleen and Curtis Marble Professor of Cancer Research, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Frances Arnold, Ph.D.
Linus Pauling Professor, California Institute of Technology and Director, Rosen Bioengineering Center, California Institute of Technology
Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2018

Elizabeth Blackburn, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics, University of California San Francisco
Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2009

Vinton G. Cerf, Ph.D.
Vice President and Chief Internet Evangelist, Google

Walter Gilbert, Ph.D.
Carl M. Loeb University Professor Emeritus and Chair of the Society of Fellows, Harvard University
Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1980
Science Talent Search 1949

Sheldon Lee Glashow, Ph.D.
Higgins Professor of Physics, Emeritus, Harvard University
Metcalf Professor of Mathematics and the Sciences, Emeritus, Boston University
Nobel Prize in Physics 1979
Science Talent Search 1950

Brian Greene, Ph.D.
Professor, Physics and Mathematics, Columbia University
Co-Founder, World Science Festival
Science Talent Search 1980
International Science and Engineering Fair 1980

John L. Hall, Ph.D.
Professor Adjoint, Physics Department, University of Colorado/Boulder
Nobel Prize in Physics 2005
Science Talent Search 1952

Elissa Hallem, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and Molecular Genetics, University of California, Los Angeles

Dudley Herschbach, Ph.D.
Emeritus Professor, Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Harvard University
Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1986

Marcian (Ted) Hoff, Ph.D.
Co-Inventor of the Microprocessor
Science Talent Search 1954

Roald Hoffmann, Ph.D.
Frank H.T. Rhodes Professor of Humane Letters Emeritus, Cornell University
Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1981
Science Talent Search 1955

Leroy (Lee) Hood, M.D., Ph.D.
Senior Vice President and Chief Scientist, Providence St. Joseph Health, Seattle
Co-Founder, Professor and Chief Strategic Officer, Institute for Systems Biology
Science Talent Search 1956

Martin Karplus, Ph.D.
Theodore William Richards Professor Emeritus, Harvard University
Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2013
Science Talent Search 1947

Eric S. Lander, D.Phil.
President and Founding Director, Broad Institute of Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Harvard University
Science Talent Search 1974

Cato T. Laurencin, M.D., Ph.D.
University Professor;
Albert and Wilda Van Dusen Distinguished Professor of Orthopedic Surgery; and
Professor of Chemical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, and Biomedical Engineering, University of Connecticut
Director, Raymond and Beverly Sackler Center for Biomedical, Biological, Physical and Engineering Sciences, University of Connecticut
CEO, The Connecticut Convergence Institute for Translation in Regenerative Engineering, University of Connecticut

Paul L. Modrich, Ph.D.
James B. Duke Professor of Biochemistry, Duke University Medical Center
Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2015
Science Talent Search 1964
International Science and Engineering Fair 1964

Lisa Randall, Ph.D.
Frank J. Baird, Jr., Professor of Physics, Harvard University
Science Talent Search 1980

Henry Samueli, Ph.D.
Chairman, Broadcom, Inc.
Chairman, Broadcom Foundation

Frank Wilczek, Ph.D.
Herman Feshback Professor of Physics, Center for Theoretical Physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Founding Director, Tsung-Dao Lee Institute, and Chief Scientist, Wilczek Quantum Center, Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Distinguished Origins Professor, Arizona State University
Professor of Physics, Stockholm University
Nobel Prize in Physics 2004
Science Talent Search 1967

George Yancopoulos, M.D., Ph.D.
President and Chief Scientific Officer, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Science Talent Search 1976

Huda Y. Zoghbi, M.D.
Professor, Baylor College of Medicine
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Director, Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute, Texas Children’s Hospital