Three New Members to join Society for Science Honorary Board

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Society for Science named three new members to its Honorary Board. Consisting of 28 distinguished scientists, engineers, entrepreneurs and innovators, Honorary Board members are elected by the Society’s Board of Trustees to provide strategic guidance and input on scientific issues important to the Society’s mission.

The new members are:

Raj Chetty, Ph.D.
William A. Ackman Professor of Economics, Harvard University
Director of Opportunity Insights, Harvard University
Science Talent Search 1997
International Science and Engineering Fair 1997

Tom Leighton, Ph.D.
CEO & Co-Founder, Akamai Technologies
Professor of Applied Mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Member, Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL), MIT
Science Talent Search 1974
International Science and Engineering Fair 1972 and 1973
Former member of Society for Science Board of Trustees

Alan Leshner, Ph.D.
CEO Emeritus of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
Former Executive Publisher of Science, and the Science family of journals
Former member of Society for Science Board of Trustees

“The expertise and guidance these new members will lend to our Honorary Board is crucial to advancing the Society’s mission of informing, educating and inspiring the next generation of STEM leaders,” said Maya Ajmera, President and CEO, Society for Science and Executive Publisher, Science News. “I look forward to working with them as we continue to expand scientific literacy and access to our STEM programs.

“I am thrilled to welcome these three distinguished STEM leaders as new members of the Society’s Honorary Board,” said Mary Sue Coleman, Society for Science Board of Trustees Chair. “Their dedication to the Society and our mission is invaluable.”

The Honorary Board assists the Society in thinking through strategic organizational questions, speaking to students who compete in our science competitions and nominating next generation of scientists and engineers for the SN 10, an honor granted by Science News to 10 early and mid-career scientists on their way to widespread acclaim.

About Society for Science

Society for Science is a champion for science, dedicated to promoting the understanding and appreciation of science and the vital role it plays in human advancement. Established in 1921, Society for Science is best known for its award-winning journalism through Science News and Science News Explores, its world-class science research competitions for students, including the Regeneron Science Talent Search, the Regeneron International Science and Engineering Fair and the Thermo Fisher Scientific Junior Innovators Challenge, and its outreach and equity programming that seeks to ensure that all students have an opportunity to pursue a career in STEM. A 501(c)(3) membership organization, Society for Science is committed to inform, educate and inspire. Learn more at and follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat (Society4Science).