Society for Science names new members to its Honorary Board - Society for Science Skip to content

Society for Science names new members to its Honorary Board

New Honorary Board Members for 2021
The Society named six new members to its Honorary Board.

Six Distinguished Scientists and Engineers Join Honorary Board

Today, the Society for Science named six new members to its Honorary Board, which provides the Society with strategic guidance and input on scientific issues of importance to the Society. The 28-member board is made up of distinguished scientists, engineers, entrepreneurs and innovators who are recognized leaders in their fields.

The new members are:

Jeanette Epps, Ph.D.
NASA Astronaut

H. Robert Horvitz, Ph.D.
Professor of Biology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Member, MIT McGovern Institute for Brain Research
Member, MIT Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research
Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2002

Freeman A. Hrabowski, III, Ph.D.
President, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Shirley M. Malcom, Ph.D.
Senior Advisor and Director, SEA Change, American Association for the Advancement of Science

David N. Spergel, Ph.D.
Director, Center for Computational Astrophysics, Flatiron Institute
Charles Young Professor of Astronomy on the Class of 1897 Foundation Emeritus
Science Talent Search 1978

Edward O. Thorp, Ph.D.
Author, Beat the Dealer: A Winning Strategy for the Game of Twenty-One and A Man for All Markets
Science Talent Search 1949

“The Honorary Board is a powerful group who lends their expertise to the Society in myriad of ways from speaking to our students who compete in our research competitions or nominating next generation of scientists and engineers for the SN 10 or helping us think through strategic organizational questions,” said Maya Ajmera, President and CEO of the Society for Science and Publisher of Science News. “The expertise that these new members bring to the board is exceptional, and I am honored to have them helping to guide us as the Society celebrates its Centennial year.”

“I am so pleased to welcome these new members to the Society’s Honorary Board,” said Mary Sue Coleman, Society for Science Board of Trustees Chair. “Their expertise, creativity and talent will be invaluable as the Society continues to grow and find new ways to support science and scientific inquiry.”

The Board’s members will serve three-year terms, with nominations made by the Board of Trustees, Society Executive Team and other Honorary Board Members.

Wendy Li