Skip to Content

Three new members to join Society for Science Honorary Board

Society for Science welcomes three new board members, (from left to right) Raj Chetty, Ph.D., Tom Leighton, Ph.D., Alan Leshner, Ph.D.
The Society names Raj Chetty, Tom Leighton and Alan Leshner to its Honorary Board. Courtesy of Society for Science

Today, Society for Science named three new members to its Honorary Board. Consisting of 28 distinguished scientists, engineers, entrepreneurs and innovators, Honorary Board members are elected by the Society’s Board of Trustees to provide strategic guidance and input on scientific issues important to the Society’s mission.

The new members are:

Raj Chetty, Ph.D.
William A. Ackman Professor of Economics, Harvard University
Director of Opportunity Insights, Harvard University
Science Talent Search 1997
International Science and Engineering Fair 1997

Tom Leighton, Ph.D.
CEO & Co-Founder, Akamai Technologies
Professor of Applied Mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Member, Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL), MIT
Science Talent Search 1974
International Science and Engineering Fair 1972 and 1973
Former member of Society for Science Board of Trustees

Alan Leshner, Ph.D.
CEO Emeritus of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
Former Executive Publisher of Science, and the Science family of journals
Former member of Society for Science Board of Trustees

“The expertise and guidance these new members will lend to our Honorary Board is crucial to advancing the Society’s mission of informing, educating and inspiring the next generation of STEM leaders,” said Maya Ajmera, President and CEO, Society for Science and Executive Publisher, Science News. “I look forward to working with them as we continue to expand scientific literacy and access to our STEM programs.

“I am thrilled to welcome these three distinguished STEM leaders as new members of the Society’s Honorary Board,” said Mary Sue Coleman, Society for Science Board of Trustees Chair. “Their dedication to the Society and our mission is invaluable.”

The Honorary Board assists the Society in thinking through strategic organizational questions, speaking to students who compete in our science competitions and nominating next generation of scientists and engineers for the SN 10, an honor granted by Science News to 10 early and mid-career scientists on their way to widespread acclaim.