Society Alumni Selected as 2013 Davidson Fellows - Society for Science Skip to content

, ,

Society Alumni Selected as 2013 Davidson Fellows

The 2013 Davidson Fellows traveled to Washington, D.C. for a recognition ceremony held at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian on Saturday, September 28. Out of the 20 students honored, 11 are alumni of one or more of Society’s educational competitions.

Davidson Fellow scholarships are awarded to individuals younger than 18 in Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics, Literature, Music, Philosophy and Outside the Box categories. Several of the Davidson Fellows also took the opportunity to stop by the Broadcom MASTERS Science and Engineering Project Showcase to chat with the finalists about research and their experiences prior to their award ceremony. (Broadcom MASTERS is Society’s national STEM competition for middle school students.)

“Being a Davidson Fellow is more than the honor of the award and scholarship: it is chance to be part of a group of students from all walks of life, in very different fields, that will shape the future of society and the world,” said Samantha Marquez, 2013 Davidson Fellow Laureate in Science and Intel ISEF finalist in 2011, 2012, and 2013.

View the list of Society alumni who received Davidson Fellow scholarships in 2013 below or view all the recipients:

$50,000 Scholarships

•    Miss Hannah Larson, 18, Eugene, Ore.; Classification of Some Fusion Categories of Rank 4 (Intel STS and Intel ISEF)
•    Miss Samantha Marquez, 18, Midlothian, Va.; Celloidosomes®: A New Paradigm in the Bottom-up Assembly of Multicellular Architectures (Intel ISEF)

$25,000 Scholarships

•    Miss Aashna Mago, 17, Newtown, Pa.; A Novel EZH2 Histone Methyltransferase Inhibitor: Potential Advancement in Epigenetic Cancer Therapy (Intel STS)
•    Miss Natalie Ng, 17, Cupertino, Calif.; MicroRNA Prognostic Signatures and Prediction Models for Distant Metastasis-Free Survival (DMFS) in Breast Cancer (Intel ISEF)
•    Miss Lilia Popova, 18, Ann Arbor, Mich.; Elucidating Environmental and Genetic Mechanisms of Magnetically Altered Plant Growth (Intel STS, Intel ISEF)
•    Mr. Thabit Pulak, 17, Richardson, Texas; Home-based Arsenic Bio-sane Water Filter and Rapid Arsenic Water Test using Nanotechnology (Intel ISEF)

$10,000 Scholarships

•    Mr. Alec Brenner, 17, McLean, Va.; Viscoelastic Modeling of Tidal Heating in Terrestrial Exoplanets (Intel STS)
•    Mr. Michael Janner, 17, Redlands, Calif.; Magnetic Manipulation of Nanoscale Mirrors and Photonic Crystals (Intel ISEF)
•    Miss Jiayi Peng, 18, Chappaqua, N.Y.; A Cellular Automaton Model for Critical Dynamics in Neuronal Networks (Intel STS)
•    Mr. Vinay Sriram, 17, Boyds, Md.; Quantitative Modeling of Processing Cost and Energy Consumption for Cryptographically Enhanced Secure Internet Routing Protocol (Intel ISEF)
•    Mr. Vaibhav Vavilala, 18, Indianapolis, Ind.; Neural Networks: Raising the Storage Capacity (Intel STS, Intel ISEF)

Honorable Mentions:

•    Jordan Cadle, Intel ISEF
•    Benjamin Jin, Intel STS and Intel ISEF
•    Aneri Kinariwalla, Intel ISEF
•    Nathan Kondamuri, Intel STS and Intel ISEF
•    Joshua Meier, Intel ISEF
•    Meghan Shea, Intel STS and Intel ISEF
•    Sunny Zheng, Intel STS
•    Neel Mehta, DCYSC

No Author