Nobel Laureate and MacArthur Fellow among those named to Society for Science list of Notable Alumni - Society for Science Skip to content

Nobel Laureate and MacArthur Fellow among those named to Society for Science list of Notable Alumni

An image with six photos, of each of the new alumni added to the Notable Alumni list

Changemakers competed in the Science Talent Search and the International Science and Engineering Fair

Today, Society for Science added six impressive alumni to our “Notable Alumni” list, which highlights alumni of our Science Talent Search (STS), International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) and middle school STEM competition who embody the principles of leadership, innovation and global impact.

The webpage, which can be viewed here, includes individual profiles with contemporary assets highlighting lasting contributions these alumni have made to their field, as well as archival Society content from their competition experience. The list was launched in March 2022, with more than 100 alumni, and the Society plans to add to this list as the organization’s more than 70,000 alumni continue to contribute to their fields.

The additions are:

  • Physicist Charles H. Bennett, who is considered one of the founding fathers of quantum information theory and won the 2023 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics;
  • Software developer and entrepreneur Greg Brockman, who is one of the leading voices in AI technology and cofounded OpenAI;
  • Physicist John Clauser, who was awarded the Nobel Prize in 2022 for his work in quantum entanglement;
  • Louise Schmir Hay, a celebrated mathematician best known for her work in mathematical logic, recursive enumerable sets and computational complexity theory;
  • Four-star Admiral Cecil D. Haney, who held several command positions throughout his service; and
  • Microsoft Computer scientist Lester Mackey, who was named a MacArthur Fellow in 2023.

“We are pleased to celebrate the important contributions to science that these six alumni have made,” said Maya Ajmera, President and CEO of the Society for Science and Executive Publisher of Science News. “The Society is honored to have played a role in supporting these distinguished individuals at the beginning of their scientific journeys.”

Each alumnus was named to the list, based on their professional accomplishments and lasting contributions to advancing science and improving the world in which we live. The list was created in celebration of the Society for Science’s centennial year and includes Nobel laureates, entrepreneurs, MacArthur Fellows, pioneers, National Medal of Science and Technology recipients, and even Emmy and Oscar-winners.

Kevin Easterly