Six Society alumni named 2024 Marshall Scholars - Society for Science Skip to content

Six Society alumni named 2024 Marshall Scholars

By Kevin Easterly

Headshots of the six alumni Marshall scholars
Six Society alumni have named 2024 Marshall Scholars.

For Society alumni, engaging in competitions such as the Regeneron Science Talent Search, Regeneron International Science and Engineering Fair and Thermo Fisher Scientific Junior Innovators Challenge, marks only the beginning of the contributions they will go on to share with the world. From investigating some of the world’s most fundamental questions, to transforming their fields and confronting the issues of our times, you can learn about some of our most accomplished alums on our Notable Alumni website—or meet some of the rising stars included on the 2024 Forbes “30 Under 30” lists.

We are thrilled to share that six alumni of Society’s competitions have been named 2024 Marshall Scholars. As part of the largest cohort since the scholarship’s founding in 1953, comprising a total of 51 recipients, each Marshall Scholar will receive funding to pursue a graduate-level degree in any field of study at an institution in the United Kingdom. With wide-ranging interests and goals, we wish these alumni the best of luck in this exciting next chapter, and we look forward to following their future achievements.

Below, meet the six Society alumni that have been named 2024 Marshall Scholars. Follow the links to view their full profiles on the Marshall Scholarships website.  

Anushree Chaudhuri (ISEF 2019)
Anushree, of San Diego, California, is currently studying urban studies and planning as well as economics at MIT. As a Marshall Scholar, Anushree will pursue a doctorate degree in environmental policy and development at the London School of Economics and Political Science.

Logan Glasstetter (Middle School Competition 2014 entrant)
Logan, of Davison, Michigan, graduated from Duke University in 2021 with degrees in chemistry and biology. As a Marshall Scholar, he will continue his studies in this field by pursuing master’s degrees in drug discovery and development at the University of Leeds and chemistry at the University of Cambridge.

Amara Ifeji (STS 2020 scholar; ISEF 2019-2020)
Amara, of Bangor, Maine, is currently studying political science, with minors in environmental studies and philosophy at Northeastern University. As a Marshall Scholar, she will pursue master’s degrees at the University in Oxford in nature, society and environmental governance, as well as in African studies, also at the University of Oxford.

Maeve Janecka (STS 2020 scholar)
Maeve, of Purdys, New York, is studying chemical and biomolecular engineering, with minors in biology and Spanish, at the Georgia Institute of Technology. As a Marshall Scholar, she will study women’s and reproductive health at the University of Oxford.

Rupert Li (STS 2020 finalist; ISEF 2020; Middle School Competition 2016 semifinalist)
Rupert, of Portland, Oregon, is currently double majoring in mathematics and computer science, economics, and data science at MIT. He plans to continue his studies by obtaining master’s degrees in pure mathematics at the University of Cambridge and in mathematics and foundations of computer science at the University of Oxford.

Sarosh Nagar (2016 Middle School Competition semifinalist)
Sarosh, of Northbrook, Illinois, is currently studying chemistry and economics at Harvard University. He plans to pursue degrees in innovation, public policy and public value at University College London, and in global governance and diplomacy at the University of Oxford.

Kevin Easterly