Intel ISEF 2018

Meghana Bollimpalli, Oliver Nicholls, and Dhruvik Parikh won the top awards at the Intel ISEF 2018. Photo courtesy of Society for Science & the Public/Chris Ayers Photography

Top Winners from 2018

Gordon E. Moore Award Winner of $75,000

Oliver Nicholls, 19, of Sydney, Australia
Autonomous Window Cleaning Robot for Commercial High Rise Buildings

Intel Foundation Young Scientist Awards – $50,000 each

Meghana Bollimpalli, 17, of Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Green Synthesis of Phosphorous, Nitrogen Co-Doped Carbon Materials from Renewable Resources for Supercapacitor Applications via Microwave Assisted Technique 

Dhruvik Parikh, 18, of Bothell, Washington, United States
A Novel Sol-Gel Derived SPEEK/Silicon Dioxide Composite Membrane for the Vanadium Redox Flow Battery

Intel ISEF 2018 Highlights Video

The 2018 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair featured nearly 1,800 young scientists selected from 420 affiliate fairs in more than 78 countries, regions and territories. In addition to the top winners, approximately 600 finalists received awards and prizes for their innovative research, including 22 “Best of Category” winners, who each received a US $5,000 prize. The Intel Foundation also awarded a US $1,000 grant to each “Best of Category” winner’s school and to the affiliated fair they represent.


Category Name City State/Country
Animal Sciences Anna Spektor
Ayman Isahaku
Glendale Wisconsin
Behavioral and Social Sciences Amy Shteyman Great Neck New York
Biochemistry Rhea Malhotra Bethlehem Pennsylvania
Biomedical and Health Sciences Nabeel Quryshi Milwaukee Wisconsin
Biomedical Engineering Ronak Roy San Diego California
Cellular and Molecular Biology Ella Feiner Bronx New York
Chemistry Meghana Bollimpalli Little Rock Arkansas
Computational Biology and Bioinformatics Marissa Sumathipala Asburn Virginia
Earth and Environmental Sciences Vasily Tremsin Moraga California
Embedded Systems Malav Shah
Burzin Balsara
Plano Texas
Energy: Chemical Dhruvik Parikh Bothell Washington
Energy: Physical Sathya Edamadaka Lincroft New Jersey
Engineering Mechanics Frederik Dunschen Münster Germany
Environmental Engineering Raina Jain Greenwich Connecticut
Materials Science Daniel Kang Tamuning Guam
Mathematics Muhammad Abdulla Melbourne Florida
Microbiology Logan Dunkenberger Roanoke Virginia
Physics and Astronomy Ana Humphrey Alexandria Virginia
Plant Sciences Yueyang Fan Shanghai China
Robotics and Intelligent Machines Oliver Nicholls Sydney Australia
Systems Software Ruihua Chou Beijing China
Translational Medical Science Edwin Bodoni Greenwood Village Colorado

2018 Alumni Updates

We welcome and encourage updates on alumni from the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair in 2018; please contact us with information.