Intel ISEF 2015

Top Winners from 2015

Gordon E. Moore Award Winner of $75,000 

Raymond Wang, 17, of Vancouver, Canada 
Aircraft Cabin Airflow: Curbing Disease Transmission

Intel Foundation Young Scientist Awards – $50,000 each

Nicole Ticea, 16, of Vancouver, Canada
Low-Cost Disposable Device for Point-of-Care Nucleic Acid Testing of HIV: Sample-to-Answer in 60 Minutes for Less than $5.00

Karan Jerath, 18, of Friendswood, Texas, United States
International Oil Spill Remediation: The Numerical Simulation of an in-situ Subsea Separator, Part II

The 2015 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair featured approximately 1,700 young scientists selected from 422 affiliate fairs in more than 75 countries, regions and territories. In addition to the top winners, approximately 600 finalists received awards and prizes for their innovative research, including 20 “Best of Category” winners, who each received a US$5,000 prize. The Intel Foundation also awarded a US$1,000 grant to each “Best of Category” winner’s school and to the affiliated fair they represent. 

Category Name City State/Country
Animal Sciences

Nattapong Chueasiritaworn
Thananon Hirawanichchakorn
Sutthiluk Rakdee

Muang Thailand
Biochemistry Amol Punjabi Worcester Massachusetts
Behavioral and Social Sciences

Sophia Korner
Diya Mathur

Louisville Kentucky
Biomedical and Health Sciences Nicole Ticea Vancouver Canada
Computational Biology and Bioinformatics

Matthew Retchin
Michael Retchin

Richmond Virginia
Cellular and Molecular Biology Demetri Maxim Bethel Maine
Chemistry Arne Hensel Homburg/Efze Germany
Earth and Environmental Sciences Joshua Zhou Chapel Hill North Carolina
Embedded Systems Niklas Fauth Marbach am Neckar Germany
Energy: Chemical Kathy Liu Salt Lake City Utah
Energy: Physical Sriharshita Musunuri Mill Creek Washington
Environmental Engineering Karan Jerath Friendswood Texas
Engineering Mechanics Raymond Wang Vancouver Canada
Math Sanath Devalapurkar Torrance California
Materials Science Catherine Li Orlando Florida
Microbiology Carly Crump Jacksonville Florida
Physics and Astronomy Ruochen Hao Jinan China
Plant Sciences Abdul Jabbar Alhamood Dhahran Saudi Arabia
Robotics and Intelligent Machines Ava Lakmazaheri Alexandria Virginia
Systems Software Charles Noyes Villa Park California


Top Winners Press Release

Full Listing of Grand Award Winners

Full Listing of Special Award Winners

Full 2015 Intel ISEF program

Intel ISEF 2015 Photo Albums on Facebook and Flickr

To search and view abstracts from the past five years of Intel ISEF, please visit our Project Database

2015 Alumni Updates

We welcome and encourage updates on alumni from the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair in 2015; please contact us with information.