Westinghouse Science Talent Search 1962

  • Top Winner: Christopher Cherniak
  • 2nd Place: Lewis Haberly
  • 3rd Place: Joseph Eyer
  • 4th Place: Jack Catlin
  • 5th Place: Leonard Gordy
  • 6th Place: Miriam Kanter (Herzfeld)
  • 7th Place: John Emmel
  • 8th Place: Mitchell Fruitstone


  • Gala Speaker:
    Dr. Detlev W. Bronk
1962 Science Talent Search finalists at the Capitol.

1962  Semifinalist Book

1962 Alumni Updates

We welcome and encourage updates on alumni from the Science Talent Search in 1962; please contact us with information

1962 Finalists

Richard Barnes Evanston IL
Jack Catlin Miami FL
Clark Chapman Buffalo NY
Christopher Cherniak Eau Gallie FL
Colin Connery Jamaica NY
Barry Cook Revere MA
John Emmel Los Angeles CA
Joseph Eyer Philadelphia PA
Carl Feit Brooklyn NY
Herbert Fried Brooklyn NY
Mitchell Fruitstone Coral Gables FL
Jane Glendinning Miami FL
Leonard Gordy Rome NY
Peter Grafstein Brooklyn NY
Sheila Grinell New York NY
Lewis Haberly Severance NY
Philip Harnage Desert Hot Springs CA
Donna Hayes Toledo OH
Jack Hills Independence KS
Mary Jackson Phoenix AZ
Judith Kanner San Bernardino CA
Miriam Kanter Brooklyn NY
Charles Katz Brooklyn NY
Michael Machtey Miami FL
Paul Magley Bellerose NY
Betty Marvin El Sobrante CA
Carol McBee Waverly PA
Jack Morava Mercedes TX
Charles Rogers Vancouver WA
Katherine Runkle Elyria OH
Gerald Smith Greenville IL
Robert Strom New York NY
Ann Vater Marshfield WI
Robert Walton Cincinnati OH
Ronald Williams Lomita CA
Harold Williams, Jr. Phoenix AZ
Michael Wojcik Fall River MA
Raphael Zahler Little Neck NY
Robert Zucker Philadelphia PA
Ralph Zuckerman Brooklyn NY