Westinghouse Science Talent Search 1959

  • Top Winner: John Letcher
  • 2nd Place: Frank Grimm
  • 3rd Place: Carl Lyngholm
  • 4th Place: Robert McDonnell
  • 5th Place: Joseph Vajk
  • 6th Place: William Waterhouse


  • Gala Speaker:
    John A. McCone
President Eisenhower with the 1959 Science Talent Search finalists in the White House.

1959 Semifinalist Book

1959 Alumni Updates

We welcome and encourage updates on alumniĀ from the Science Talent Search in 1959; please contact us with information.

1959 Science Talent Search finalists at the Capitol


1959 Finalists

Wilson Allen Shelbyville IN
Mary Anglim Chicago IL
Paul Bamberg, Jr Middletown RI
Kenneth Berman Laurelton NY
Paul Corneil Baytown TX
Susan Dwyer Lafayette IN
Thomas Emmel Los Angeles CA
Arnold Fetell Brooklyn NY
Edward Ganz Bethesda MD
Stephen Garland Pittsburgh PA
Ronald Gates Marshfield WI
Todd Gitlin New York NY
Joseph Goguen, Jr Pittsfield MA
Jeffrey Greenhouse Hempstead NY
Frank Grimm Catonsville MD
Dennis Henkel Milwaukee WI
Robert Higgins Evanston IL
David Humphreys Orangeburg SC
David Jessup Greeley CO
Kenneth Kloss Loudonville OH
Jonathan Leavitt Easton PA
John Letcher Lexington VA
Carl Lyngholm San Diego CA
Marion Madrid New Rochelle NY
Peter Marks Forest Hills NY
Leonard Massey, Jr Chattanooga TN
Robert McDonnell Park Ridge IL
Sherie Morrison Concord CA
Ruth Nelson Philadelphia PA
Richard O’Connell Helena MT
Harold Peterson, Jr Valley Stream NY
Robert Robinson Natick MA
Miriam Rosenthal Brooklyn NY
Carl Schwalbe Chillicothe OH
Stevenson Swigert Evanston IL
Joseph Vajk Princeton Junction NJ
William Waterhouse Denver CO
Nancy Wood Great Falls MT
Eileen Yager New York NY
Jeanne Zika Cleveland OH