Intel ISEF 2014

Top Winners from 2014

Gordon E. Moore Award Winner of $75,000 

Nathan Han, 15, of Boston, MA, United States 
Characteristics of Deleterious Mutations in Tumor Suppressor Genes

Intel Foundation Young Scientist Awards – $50,000 each

Lennart Kleinwort, 15, of Wurzburg, Germany
Dynamic Mathematics on Smartphones and Tablets

Shannon Winjing Lee, 17, of Singapore, Singapore
Nature Derived Carbon Microsheets as Efficient Electrocatalyst for Energy Storage

The 2014 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair featured more than 1,700 young scientists selected from 435 affiliate fairs in more than 70 countries, regions and territories. In addition to the top winners, more than 500 finalists received awards and prizes for their innovative research, including 17 “Best of Category” winners, who each received a US$5,000 prize. The Intel Foundation also awarded a US$1,000 grant to each winner’s school and to the affiliated fair they represent. Additionally, the Intel Foundation presented a select number of students with experiential awards, including the new 11-day trip to China to attend the country’s largest national science competition, speak with researchers at Intel’s lab in Shanghai, and visit the Panda Research Base in Chengdu.

Category Name City State/Country
Animal Sciences

Daksh Dua
Abhishek Verma

Delhi India
Behavioral and Social Sciences Michelle Marquez Midlothian Virginia
Biochemistry Ken Aizawa Jericho New York
Cellular and molecular Biology Joshua Meier Hackensack New Jersey
Chemistry Tai Hei Chan
Er Hai Fang
Hong Kong China
Computer Science Yue Yao Shanghai China
Earth and Planetary Sciences Yu-Hsin Chen Taipei Chinese Taipei
Engineering: Electrical and Mechanical Sarah Galvin Tempe Arizona
Engineering: Materials and Bioengineering Harry Paul Port Washington New York
Energy and Transportation Shannon Lee Singapore Singapore
Environmental Management Faye Jong Kuching Malaysia
Environmental Sciences Perry Alagappan Houston Texas
Mathematical Sciences Lennart Kleinwort Wurzburg Germany
Medicine and Health Nathan Han Boston Massachusetts
Microbiology Logan Collins Boulder Colorado
Physics and Astronomy John Caddell Pebble Beach California
Plant Sciences Yi-Hsuan Huang Taipei Chinese Taipei


Top Winners Press Release

Full Listing of Grand Award Winners

Full Listing of Special Award Winners

Full 2014 Intel ISEF program

Intel ISEF 2014 Photo Albums on Facebook and Flickr

To search and view abstracts from the past five years of Intel ISEF, please visit our Project Database

2014 Alumni Updates

We welcome and encourage updates on alumni from the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair in 2014; please contact us with information.