Intel ISEF 2012

Top Winners from 2012

Gordon E. Moore Award Winner of $75,000 

Jack Thomas Andraka, 15, of Glen Burnie, Maryland, United States  
A Novel Paper Sensor for the Detection of Pancreatic Cancer

Intel Foundation Young Scientist Awards – $50,000 each

Nicholas Benjamin Schiefer, 17, of Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
Apodora: Markov Chain-Inspired Microsearch

Ari Misha Dyckovsky, 18, of Sterling, Virginia, United States
Analysis of Photon-Mediated Entanglement between Distinguishable Matter Qubits

In 2012, more than 1,500 young scientists were chosen to compete in the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair. They were selected from 446 affiliate fairs in approximately 70 countries, regions and territories. In addition to the winners mentioned above, more than 400 finalists received awards and prizes for their groundbreaking work. Awards included 17 “Best of Category” winners who each received a $5,000 prize. The Intel Foundation also awarded a $1,000 grant to each winner’s school and to the affiliated fair they represent. The following lists the 17 Best of Category winners from which the top three were chosen:

Category Name City State/Country
Animal Sciences Lucy Hritzo Holland Pennsylvania
Behavioral and Social Sciences Benjamin Kornick Rosalyn Heights New York
Biochemistry Rebecca Alford Commack New York
Cellular and molecular Biology Raghav Tripathi Portland Oregon
Chemistry Raghavendra Ramachanderan Bengaluru India
Computer Science Nicholas Schiefer Pickering, Ontario Canada
Earth and Planetary Sciences Mofeed Sawan London, Ontario Canada
Engineering: Electrical and Mechanical Assiya Kussainova Karaganda, Karagandy Kazakhstan
Engineering: Materials and Bioengineering Ryota Ishizuka Cos Cob Connecticut
Energy and Transportation Shyamal Buch Folsom California
Environmental Management Adam Noble Lakefield, Ontario Canada
Environmental Sciences Naomi Shah Portland Oregon
Mathematical Sciences Aishwarya Vardhana Beaverton Oregon
Medicine and Health Jack Andraka Crownsville Maryland
Microbiology Felix Angelov Skokie Illinois
Physics and Astronomy Ari Dyckovsky Leesburg Virginia
Plant Sciences Huihui Fan Staten Island New York


Top Winners Press Release

Full Listing of Grand Award Winners

Full Listing of Special Award Winners

Full 2012 Intel ISEF program

Intel ISEF 2012 Photo Albums on Facebook and Flickr

To search and view abstracts from the past five years of Intel ISEF, please visit our Project Database

2012 Alumni Updates

We welcome and encourage updates on alumni from the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair in 2012; please contact us with information.