Winners of SPARK Competition Announced | Society for Science

Love Science? Welcome Home.

Support Amazing Science Journalism.

Create the New Science Generation.

Winners of SPARK Competition Announced

Microfluidics “Lab on a Chip” Takes First Prize and $50,000 Award in Prototype Category

On Tuesday, April 8, the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation and Society for Science & the Public announced the winners of the Science, Play, and Research Kit (SPARK) competition.

Manu Prakash, an assistant professor of bioengineering at Stanford University, and his graduate student George Korir won the first place award of $50,000. Prakash and Korir developed a prototype of an inexpensive “lab on a chip” using a technology known as “microfluidics.” Microfluidics uses programmable microchips containing miniature pipes, valves, and pumps to carry out a wide variety of chemistry or biology experiments.

Read more about SPARK and the full list of winners!

From the SSP Newsroom

Science News


Science News forStudents


Eureka! Lab