Summer 2014 Alumni Enewsletter | Society for Science

Love Science? Welcome Home.

Support Amazing Science Journalism.

Create the New Science Generation.

Summer 2014 Alumni Enewsletter

Alumni Quarterly

Summer 2014

View in browser
SSP Logo
Follow Us
Friend Us
Visit Us
STS 1989 finalists Allene Whitney and Zoe Phillips (right) with Westinghouse CEO John Marous

Alumni Flashback - Science Talent Search 1989

Zoe Phillips, nee Marchal, a finalist from the Science Talent Search 1989, recently reconnected with SSP by filling out an Alumnus Profile. Zoe received her MS from New York University and her MPH from the University of Southern California. She currently works at Occidental College as the Acting Director for the Urban and Environmental Policy Institute, the Director of the Farm to Preschool initiative, and an adjunct professor.

View photos and a full list of STS 1989 finalists

Anne Merrill, Zarin Rahman, Henry Lin, and Brenna Wallin at the White House Science Fair 2014

Alumni News

  • Eight SSP alumni, including Eric Chen (Intel STS 2014, Intel ISEF 2013-2014), Laura Herman (Intel STS 2014 semifinalist), Connor Klemenhagen (Intel ISEF 2013), Henry Lin (Intel ISEF 2012-2013), Anne Merrill (Intel STS 2014), Zarin Rahman (Intel STS 2014, Intel ISEF 2012-2014), Elana Simon (Intel STS 2014 semfinalist), and Brenna Wallin (Broadcom MASTERS 2013) attended the fourth White House Science Fair
  • Nathan Han (Broadcom MASTERS 2011) wins top award at Intel ISEF 2014
  • SPARK competition to reimagine the chemistry set winner announcement
  • Neil Davey (Intel STS 2014) wins 2014 Maryland BioGENEius Challenge
  • Three SSP alumni received the Spring 2014 Paul and Daisy Soros Fellowship for New Americans: Sana Raoof (Intel ISEF 2008), Kevin Shenderov (Intel STS 2003 semifinalist), and Winston Yan (Intel ISEF 2006)
  • Ari Dyckovsky (Intel STS 2012, Intel ISEF 2012) co-founded his own company, Arktos
  • Shubhro Saha (Intel STS 2011) created an open-source voice recognition system with a fellow Princeton student
Fatima Cody Stanford at her Intel ISEF project in 1995. Courtesy of Fatima Cody Stanford
Recent SSP Alumni Blog Posts
  • Marie Aloia (SSP Fellow, 2010) and her students; Parts 1, 2, and 3
  • Frieda Fein (Intel STS 2010, Intel ISEF 2009), now a geology and political science dual-degree major graduating from Yale
  • Nina Vasan (Intel ISEF 2002), now a psychiatrist at Stanford and author of “Do Good Well”
  • Fatima Cody Stanford (ISEF 1995), now an obesity medicine and nutrition physician and research fellow at Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School
  • August Steigmeyer (Intel ISEF 2007-2008, DCYSC 2001), now pursuing a Master’s degree in conservation ecology at the University of Michigan
  • Chase Lewis (Broadcom MASTERS 2012)

 Read More

Events of Interest for SSP Alumni

SSP alumni are any individuals who participated in one of our educational programs, including Broadcom MASTERS, Discovery Channel Young Scientist Challenge, Intel International Science and Engineering Fair, Intel Science Talent Search, SSP Fellowship, or SSP Middle School Program.

Know a SSP alumnus who isn’t receiving this newsletter? Please forward this email.

Privacy Policy | Unsubscribe | Contact Us
Facebook | Twitter | Flickr | Instagram | YouTube
Society for Science & the Public • 1719 N Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20036 • Copyright © 2014

From the SSP Newsroom

Science News


Science News forStudents


Eureka! Lab