Distributed Block - View: Magazine: Latest Cover

October 17, 2015 Cover

SSP Staff

SSP operates from its original historic home in the Dupont Circle neighborhood of Washington, DC. SSP operations are supported by a staff of approximately 65 people and the organization has an annual operating budget of about $20 million. It benefits from the leadership of an outstanding volunteer Board of Trustees.

To contact a staff member at Society for Science & the Public or Science News, use the first initial of the first name and the last name @societyforscience.org. For example, jdoe@societyforscience.org.

Society for Science & the Public Staff:

Executive Office:

Maya Ajmera | Chief Executive Officer, President and Publisher
Rick Bates
| Senior Advisor
Charlie Feeney | Chief Financial Officer
Michele Glidden | Chief Program Officer
Cait Goldberg | Chief of Event Planning and Operations
Angela Kim | Chief of Staff
Mike Mills | Senior Advisor
James C. Moore | Chief Technology Officer
Amy Mendez | Executive Assistant

Accounting and Human Resources:

Ouida Freeman | Manager - Human Resources
Lisa Proctor
| Manager - Accounting
Muaz Ahmed | Controller - Accounting
Christopher Mitschow | Staff Accountant


Stephen Egts | Creative Director
Justine Hirshfeld | Assistant Art Director
Molly Telfer | Assistant Art Director
Erin Otwell
| Assistant Art Director
Federico Castaneda | User Experience & Data Visualization Designer

External Affairs:

Rachel Goldman Alper | Director - Development
Sarah Wood
| Director - Communications
Nancy Moulding | Senior Specialist - Visual Information and External Affairs
Eric Nguyen | Specialist - Social Media
Patty Robertson | Development Officer
Carolyn Carson | Alumni Coordinator
Marlena Chertock | Associate - Alumni Communications
Maurice Dunn | Associate - Development
Michele Fetchko | Associate - Development
Kerwin Wilson | Associate - Advertising and Circulation


Alan Gordon | Director – Data Analytics
Greg Sprouse | Specialist - Information Technology
Chris Rivieccio | Web Developer/Analyst
Krystal Robinson | Database Administrator


Anthony Payne | Manager - Operations
Paul Roger | Lead Specialist - Facilities
Ashley Johnson | Specialist - Operations
Jordan Schwartzbach | Associate - Events
Evora Swoopes | Receptionist and Permissions Technician
Randy Williams | Mail Room Technician

Science Education Programs:

Caitlin Sullivan | Director, Science Education Programs & Manager - Intel Science Talent Search
Allison Hewlett Stifel | Associate Director, Science Education Programs & Manager - Broadcom MASTERS
Lisa McClure | Manager - Intel International Science and Engineering Fair
Sharon Snyder | Manager - International Fairs and Volunteer Recruitment
Laurie Demsey | Senior Specialist - Domestic Fairs
Victor Hall | Senior Specialist - Outreach
Sarah Conner | Specialist - Science Education Programs
Jinny Farrell | Specialist - International Fairs
June Kee | Specialist - Award and Education Program Administration
Diane Rashid | Specialist - Volunteer and Special Awards

Science News:

Eva Emerson | Editor in Chief
Tom Siegfried | Managing Editor
Janet Raloff | Editor, Science News for Students
Lila Guterman | Deputy Managing Editor - Departments
Macon Morehouse | Deputy Managing Editor - News
Kate Travis
| Deputy Managing Editor - Digital
Cori Vanchieri | Deputy Managing Editor - Features
Erin Wayman | Production Editor
Helen Thompson | Web Producer
Bruce Bower
| Writer - Behavioral Sciences
Bethany Brookshire
| Writer - Science Education
Christopher Crockett | Writer - Astronomy
Andrew GrantWriter - Physics
Susan Milius | Writer - Life Sciences
Meghan Rosen | Staff Writer
Tina Hesman Saey | Writer - Molecular Biology
Laura Sanders | Writer - Neuroscience
Thomas Sumner | Writer - Earth Sciences
Teresa Shipley Feldhausen | Editorial Assistant
Kamille Davis | Media Sales Manager