Society Staff | Society for Science

Love Science? Welcome Home.

Support Amazing Science Journalism.

Create the New Science Generation.

Society Staff

Society for Science & the Public operates from its original historic home in the Dupont Circle neighborhood of Washington, D.C. The Society operations are supported by a staff of approximately 65 people and the organization has an annual operating budget of about $20 million. It benefits from the leadership of an outstanding volunteer Board of Trustees.

To contact a staff member at Society for Science & the Public or Science News, use the first initial of the first name and the last name For example,

Society for Science & the Public Staff:

Executive Office:

Maya Ajmera | President and CEO and Publisher, Science News
Rick Bates
| Senior Advisor
Kathlene Collins | Chief Marketing Officer
Charlie Feeney | Chief Financial Officer
Michele Glidden | Chief Program Officer
Cait Goldberg | Chief of Event Planning and Operations
Bruce Makous | Chief Advancement Officer
Mike Mills
 | Senior Advisor
James C. Moore | Chief Technology Officer
Amy Mendez | Executive Assistant

Accounting and Human Resources:

Ouida Freeman | Manager - Human Resources
Lisa Proctor
| Manager - Accounting
Muaz Ahmed | Controller - Accounting
Zain Abidin | Staff Accountant


Stephen Egts | Creative Director
Erin Otwell
| Design Director
Justine Hirshfeld | Art Director
Molly Telfer | Art Director
Tracee Tibbitts | Graphic Designer
Federico Castaneda | User Experience & Data Visualization Designer


Rachel Goldman Alper | Director - Development
Bridgette Hudson | Director - Alumni Relations
Carole Russo | Associate Director, Institutional Giving
Michele Fetchko
 | Development Officer
Maurice Dunn | Associate - Development
Lauren Duffy | Specialist - Alumni Relations


Angela Kim | Director of Technology and Project Management
Greg Sprouse
| Manager - Information Technology
Kristen Looney | Senior Web and Database Developer
Philip Lewis | Database Analyst
Ricardo Gotaire | IT Specialist
Krystal Robinson | Database Administrator
Tika Juneja | Database Administrator
Matthew Schaff | PHP/Drupal Developer

Marketing & Communications:

Tracy Guthery | Director of Digital Products
Kamille Davis | Media Sales Manager
Nancy Moulding | Marketing Operations Manager
Eric Nguyen | Specialist - Social Media
Marlena Chertock | Specialist - Membership Marketing
Maxine David | Marketing Assistant


Anthony Payne | Director - Operations
Paul Roger | Lead Specialist - Facilities
Ashley Johnson | Specialist - Operations
Jordan Schwartzbach | Associate - Events
Evora Swoopes | Receptionist and Permissions Technician
Randy Williams | Mail Room Technician

Science Education Programs:

Caitlin Sullivan | Director, Science Education Programs & Manager - Regeneron Science Talent Search
Allison Hewlett Stifel | Associate Director, Science Education Programs & Manager - Broadcom MASTERS
Lisa Icenroad | Manager - Intel International Science and Engineering Fair
Sharon Snyder | Manager - International Fairs and Volunteer Recruitment
Sarah Conner | Project Manager - Science Education Programs
Victor Hall | Senior Specialist - Outreach
Jinny Farrell | Specialist - International Fairs
June Kee | Specialist - Award and Education Program Administration
Diane Rashid | Specialist - Volunteer and Special Awards
Raevathi Ramadorai | Specialist -Science Education Programs
Erin Cummins | Associate Specialist - Broadcom MASTERS
Sabrina Scull | Associate Specialist - Science Education Programs

Science News:

Eva Emerson | Editor in Chief
Tom Siegfried | Managing Editor
Janet Raloff | Editor, Science News for Students
Elizabeth Quill | Editor, Enterprise
Macon Morehouse | Deputy Managing Editor - News
Kate Travis
| Deputy Managing Editor - Digital
Cori Vanchieri | Deputy Managing Editor - Features
Erin Wayman | Deputy Managing Editor - Production 
Helen Thompson | Web Producer
Bruce Bower
| Writer - Behavioral Sciences
Bethany Brookshire
| Writer - Science Education
Emily Conover | Writer - Physics
Christopher Crockett | Writer - Astronomy
Susan Milius | Writer - Life Sciences
Meghan Rosen | Staff Writer
Tina Hesman Saey | Writer - Molecular Biology
Laura Sanders | Writer - Neuroscience
Thomas Sumner | Writer - Earth Sciences
Cassie Martin | Editorial Assistant