May 2014 Enews | Society for Science

Love Science? Welcome Home.

Support Amazing Science Journalism.

Create the New Science Generation.

May 2014 Enews

SSP Enewsletter

May 2014

View in browser
SSP Logo
Follow Us
Friend Us
Visit Us

Intel ISEF

Nathan Han wins top award at Intel ISEF 2014

Nathan Han, 15, of Boston, Massachusetts won the Gordon E. Moore Award of $75,000 for developing a machine learning software tool to study mutations of a gene linked to breast cancer. Lennart Kleinwort, 15, of Germany and Shannon Lee, 17, of Singapore both won Young Scientist Awards of $50,000 for their research on a mathematical tool for smartphones and tablets and a novel electrocatalyst, respectively.

Read the press release

View the full list of Grand Award winners

View photos from the week on Facebook

View the full list of Special Award winners

The Future: Powered by Fiction

The Future: Powered by Fiction Winners Announced

Brian David Johnson, Intel Futurist, announced the winners of The Future: Powered by Fiction competition via a Google Hangout live from the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair on Wednesday, May 14. The top 10 winners receive $1,000 and will have their science fiction submissions published in an upcoming Tomorrow Project anthology.

The Future: Powered by Fiction was an innovative science fiction competition geared at 13-25 year olds worldwide, asking them to contribute science fiction stories, essays, comics and videos hosted by the Tomorrow Project, in collaboration with Society for Science & the Public, ASU’s Center for Science and the Imagination, and the Intel Foundation. 


Highlights From Science News

More Headlines»
Join SSP to receive Science News»

Intel STS

Intel STS 2015 Application Now Open

The application for the Intel Science Talent Search (Intel STS) 2015 is now open!

Intel STS, a program of Society for Science & the Public, is for US students who will be in their last year of secondary school in November 2014. Applicants submit their research in the form of a research report, and also submit essay questions, teacher recommendations, test scores, and transcripts.

Three hundred semifinalists are chosen and awarded $1,000. Their schools also receive $1,000 for each semifinalist. Forty finalists are then selected to compete in Washington, DC for a total of $630,000 in awards, with a top award of $100,000. Read More

A Lone Star tick shown on a hairy arm. Credit: epantha/istockphoto

Highlights From Science News for Students

More Headlines»
Sign Up For the SNS E-Blast»
Privacy Policy | Unsubscribe | Contact Us
Facebook | Twitter | Flickr | Instagram | YouTube
Society for Science & the Public • 1719 N Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20036 • Copyright © 2014

From the SSP Newsroom

Science News


Science News forStudents


Eureka! Lab