Distributed Block - View: Magazine: Latest Cover

5/2/15 Cover

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees provides leadership and guidance to Society for Science & the Public. Board members are volunteers selected based on their dedicated commitment to science, education, and SSP’s mission of informing, educating, and inspiring.


H. Robert Horvitz, Chair
Professor of Biology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Cambridge, MA
Nobel Prize in Medicine or Physiology, 2002

Alan Leshner, Vice Chair
Chief Executive Officer, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
Publisher, Science
Washington, DC

Robert W. Shaw, Jr., Treasurer
President, Arete Corporation
Center Harbor, NH

Paul J. Maddon, Secretary
Founder, Vice Chairman, and Former Chief Science Officer
Progenic Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Tarrytown, NY
Finalist, 1977 Science Talent Search
Finalist, 1977 International Science and Engineering Fair

Michela English, Executive Committee, At Large
CEO, Fight for Children
Washington, DC

Maya Ajmera (ex officio)
CEO & President, Society for Science & the Public
Publisher, Science News
Washington, DC

Craig R. Barrett
Retired CEO/Chairman of the Board, Intel Corporation
Chandler, AZ

Sean B. Carroll
Vice President, Science Education, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Allan Wilson Professor of Molecular Biology, Genetics, and Medical Genetics
University of Wisconsin–Madison

Mary Sue Coleman
President, University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Finalist, 1961 Science Talent Search

Tom Leighton
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Dept. of Mathematics & Computer and Artificial Intelligence Lab
Co-founder, Akamai Technologies
Cambridge, MA
Finalist, 1974 Science Talent Search

Stephanie Pace Marshall
Founding President & President Emerita, Illinois Mathematics & Science Academy
Aurora, IL

Joe Palca
Science Correspondent, National Public Radio
Washington, DC

Vivian Schiller
Head of News, Twitter
New York, NY

Frank Wilczek
Herman Feshbach Professor of Physics, Center for Theoretical Physics
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, MA
Nobel Prize in Physics, 2004
Finalist, 1967 Science Talent Search

George Yancopoulos
President and Chief Scientific Officer, Regeneron Laboratories 
Tarrytown, NY 
Finalist, 1976 Science Talent Search

From the SSP Newsroom

Science News


Science News forStudents


Eureka! Lab